

2024
METRO HOUSING
COALITION VOTER GUIDE



# MHC Housing Coalition Offers Endorsements for 2024 Municipal Candidates

With this being an even-numbered year, all Colorado counties and four metro Denver municipalities will be holding elections this November - with far-reaching implications for the residential construction industry and our ability to meet the needs of aspiring homeowners. With attainable housing in metro Denver consistently ranked as one of this year's most critical issues, the Metro Housing Coalition has made a concerted effort to elect more pro-housing candidates up and down the ballot. Issues like inclusionary zoning, impact fees, net zero energy, rent control, metro districts, permitting delays, and construction defects have been top of mind for policymakers and elected officials over the past couple of years, and all will have a monumental impact on residential development for years to come – making this year's election extremely important for our industry.

To that end, the MHC Board just completed its outreach campaign for the fall election cycle. In total, 58 questionnaires were sent to candidates in 5 counties and 3 municipalities. 29 follow-up candidate interviews were conducted, and 20 candidates ultimately received the MHC's endorsement. While this process can feel a bit arduous, it is invaluable for the HBA to get to know the new and returning elected officials who will be making important decisions that will significantly impact our ability to deliver attainable housing for years to come. The MHC Board appreciates all of the candidates who took time out of their busy schedules to participate in this important process.

# Below, are the 2024 County and Municipal Candidates that Received the MHC's Endorsement:

#### **Adams County**

Julie Mullica, District 1 Kathy Henson, District 2 Lynn Baca, District 5

## **Arapahoe County**

Carrie Warren-Gully, District 1
Jeff Baker, District 3
Rhonda Fields, District 5

#### **Douglas County**

George Teal, District 2 Kevin Van Winkle, District 3

## **Elbert County**

Byron McDaniel, District 3

## **Jefferson County**

Rachel Zenzinger, District 1 Andy Kerr, District 2

#### **Town of Castle Rock**

Ryan Hollingshead, District 1 Kevin McHugh, District 6

#### **Town of Erie**

Mayor Justin Brooks Andrew Sawusch, District 1 Brandon Bell, District 2 Emily Baer, District 3

#### **Town of Parker**

Josh Rivero, Mayor John Diak, At-Large Todd Hendreks, At-Large Laura Hefta, At-Large

